Press "Enter" to skip to content

England Squad Named for EURO 2024, Grealish Among Notable Omissions

England Squad Named for EURO 2024, Grealish Among Notable Omissions

England manager Gareth Southgate has announced the final 26-man squad for UEFA EURO 2024. The Three Lions will head to Germany next week, following their last preparation game against Iceland at Wembley on Friday evening.

Southgate initially selected a 33-man training squad in May, which convened last week ahead of a friendly against Bosnia & Herzegovina at St. James’ Park. The final squad was revealed through an engaging video featuring fans and ex-players unveiling each selected player.

The squad includes goalkeepers Dean Henderson, Jordan Pickford, and Aaron Ramsdale. The defense will be manned by Lewis Dunk, Joe Gomez, Marc Guehi, Ezri Konsa, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, and Kyle Walker. The midfielders are Trent Alexander-Arnold, Jude Bellingham, Conor Gallagher, Kobbie Mainoo, Declan Rice, and Adam Wharton. Forwards include Jarrod Bowen, Eberechi Eze, Phil Foden, Anthony Gordon, Harry Kane, Cole Palmer, Bukayo Saka, Ivan Toney, and Ollie Watkins.

Jack Grealish is the most notable omission, dropped from the squad due to a dip in form in the latter part of the season. Despite featuring as a substitute in the friendly against Bosnia & Herzegovina, he couldn’t secure a spot. Other significant omissions include Manchester United defender Harry Maguire, due to a calf injury, and Tottenham playmaker James Maddison, who had a poor end to the season. Everton defender Jarrad Branthwaite, Liverpool midfielder Curtis Jones, Burnley goalkeeper James Trafford, and Liverpool defender Jarell Quansah also missed out.

England will travel to Germany on June 10, ahead of their opening EURO game against Serbia in Gelsenkirchen on June 16. The final squad announcement has generated excitement and anticipation as the team prepares to compete in the tournament.

England’s 26-man Euro 2024 Squad:

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace)

Forwards: Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *