Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rivers State: Governor Fubara Swears In 9 Commissioners Again

Rivers State: Governor Fubara Swears In 9 Commissioners Again

On Friday, Governor Siminalayi Fubara of Rivers State reappointed and officially welcomed nine commissioners to their roles in the state government.

These commissioners, eight of whom served in the previous cabinet under Minister Nyesom Wike, resigned during the political crisis that hit the state last year.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Executive Council Chambers of the Government House in Port Harcourt. All nine commissioners took their oaths simultaneously, starting with the oath of allegiance and followed by the oath of office.

It’s worth noting that Gift Worlu, one of the commissioners, was not part of Wike’s administration but hails from the same local government area as the Federal Capital Territory Minister.

During the ceremony, Governor Fubara congratulated the reappointed commissioners and encouraged them to prioritize the well-being of the state.

Addressing them, he said, “I don’t think I have any specific instructions for you. You have already pledged to uphold the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. I urge you to do what is right.”

Acknowledging the challenges they faced, Governor Fubara added, “I can see how heavy your hearts are. I don’t blame you. You were caught between the crossfire.”

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *