Press "Enter" to skip to content

INEC Publishes Final Lists And Candidates For The February Bye-Elections

INEC Publishes Final Lists And Candidates For The February Bye-Elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the final list and personal particulars of candidates for the upcoming bye-elections scheduled for Saturday, February 3, 2024, in nine states across the country. These elections will cover two senatorial districts, four federal constituencies, and three state constituencies.

The details of the candidates have been published in state offices and the affected constituencies, as well as on the INEC website and social media platforms, in accordance with the Electoral Act of 2022. INEC urges Nigerians to carefully scrutinize the candidates’ information, and any concerns about false information can be challenged in a Federal High Court. The publication applies solely to the bye-elections and not to re-run elections scheduled for the same day.

Read full statement below;




Nigerians may recall that recently the Commission released the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for bye-elections arising from the death or resignation of Members of the National and State Houses of Assembly.

These elections will be held on Saturday 3rd February 2024 across nine States of the Federation covering two Senatorial Districts (Ebonyi South and Yobe East); four Federal Constituencies (Shanga/Ngaski/Yauri Federal Constituency of Kebbi State, Surulere I Federal Constituency of Lagos State, Akoko North East/Akoko North West Federal Constituency of Ondo State and Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency of Taraba State); and three State Constituencies (Guma I State Constituency of Benue State, Chibok State Constituency of Borno State and Chikun State Constituency of Kaduna State).

As provided in the Timetable and Schedule of Activities, the personal particulars and final list of candidates have been published today in our State offices and the affected constituencies pursuant to the provision of Section 29(3) of the Electoral Act, 2022. The list of candidates is also published on our website and social media platforms.

We appeal to Nigerians to scrutinize the personal particulars (Form EC9 and academic credentials) of the candidates. Any aspirant who participated in his/her party primaries with reasonable grounds to believe that the information provided by the candidate is false can challenge the nomination in a Federal high Court as provided in Section 29(5) of the Electoral Act 2022.

For clarity, this publication ONLY applies to the forthcoming bye-elections as they are fresh elections for which political parties conducted primaries and nominated their candidates.

For the re-run elections to be held on the same day, the list and personal particulars of candidates [b]have been published before the 2023 General Election. The re-run elections are conducted pursuant to the orders of the Election Petition Appeal Tribunals. They are not fresh elections open to new/disqualified candidates which obviates the need to publish their personal particulars again.

Sam Olumekun mni
National Commissioner and Chairman,
Information and Voter Education Committee
Wednesday 17th January 2024

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *