Press "Enter" to skip to content

NELFUND Announces 36 Eligible Institutions for Student Loans, 115 Left Behind

NELFUND Announces 36 Eligible Institutions for Student Loans, 115 Left Behind

The Nigerian Education Loan Fund (NELFUND) has revealed that students from 36 state-owned institutions can now apply for student loans, starting July 7, 2024. This announcement follows the successful submission of complete student data by these institutions to NELFUND’s Student Verification System (SVS). NELFUND’s initiative aims to address the financial challenges faced by Nigerian students in accessing tertiary education.

Despite the progress, over 100 other state-owned institutions have yet to submit their student data, rendering their students ineligible for the loans. NELFUND has urged these institutions to promptly upload their data to ensure their students can benefit from the scheme.

The list of compliant institutions includes:

1. Adamawa State University, Mubi
2. Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri
3. Borno State University
4. Mohammed Lawan College of Agriculture, Borno
5. Edo State University, Uzairue
6. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti
7. Gombe State University
8. Kingsley Ozumba Mbadiwe University, Imo
9. Imo State University of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Umuagwo
10. Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic, Zaria
11. Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano
12. Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina
13. Katsina State Institute of Technology and Management
14. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
15. Confluence University of Science and Technology, Kogi
16. Lagos State University of Education
17. Lagos State University
18. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
19. Tai Solarin University of Education, Ogun
20. University of Medical Sciences, Ondo
21. Osun State University
22. University of Ilesa, Osun
23. Government Technical College, Ara, Osun
24. Government Technical College, Gbongan, Osun
25. Government Technical College, Ijebu-Jesa, Osun
26. Government Technical College, Ile-Ife, Osun
27. Government Technical College, Inisa, Osun
28. Government Technical College, Iwo, Osun
29. Government Technical College, Osu, Osun
30. Government Technical College, Otan Ayegbaju, Osun
31. Osun State College of Education, Ila-Orangun
32. Government Technical College, Ile-Ife, Osun
33. Osun State College of Technology, Esa-Oke
34. Taraba State University, Jalingo
35. Umar Suleiman College of Education, Gashua, Yobe
36. Zamfara State University, Talata Mafara

NELFUND has emphasized the importance of timely data submission by institutions to avoid disadvantaging students who rely on these loans for their education. The loan scheme, which was initially enacted in June 2023 and re-enacted in April 2024, aims to provide interest-free loans to eligible students. The agency expects data submissions from 48 state universities, 49 polytechnics, and 54 colleges of education.

The Managing Director of NELFUND, Akintunde Sawyerr, noted that institutions’ failure to provide student data would ultimately affect the students’ ability to access the loans. NELFUND’s spokesperson, Nasir Ayitogo, also said that incomplete or incorrect data submissions could lead to application delays or disqualification for affected students.

The NELFUND portal, which went live on May 24, continues to encourage institutions to comply with data submission requirements to ensure that all eligible students can benefit from the scheme.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *